Start page


Qingdao | China Team - The New Programme |

The New Programme

ACM has revolutionised the way this event unfurls. America’s Cup regattas no longer take place once every four years. Instead they are rolled out in 13 ‘Acts’ over the course of those four years.

13 pre-regattas are held in various host countries all over the world (France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Spain and the U.S.). The first of this series was in September 2004 in Marseille, France. The regattas  had rolled out until 7 April 2007, when the final was held in Valencia, Spain. Placings in the regattas will allow broad classification of competitors, and this will inform the Round Robin pairing for the Louis Vuitton Cup. The Cup holder, Swiss Team Alinghi, will also take part in the pre-regattas.
The Louis Vuitton Cup will take place from April – June 2007 in Valencia, and will again decide which challenger will take on the defender Team Alinghi in the final showdown.
“The Final Match” will take place from June 23, 2007 and will decide the victory of the 32nd America’s Cup.